How can you tell if someone has restricted you on Facebook?

How can you tell if someone has restricted you on Facebook?
2021-05-03

What does it mean to be restricted on Facebook?


In addition to being able to block someone on Facebook completely, users also have the option to add certain people to their Restricted list on Facebook. When you add someone to the restricted list, this person loses the ability to see your friends-only posts. They will only be able to view your posts if their privacy setting is set to Public or if you tag the person in your post on purpose.

How to tell if you’ve been restricted on Facebook?


If you suspect that one of your Facebook friends has restricted you on the platform, there are a few tricks you can use to confirm your suspicions.

The easiest way is to ask one of your mutual friends for help. If you and the person you suspect of restricting you have a good mutual friend, then you can ask this mutual friend to show you the first friend’s timeline. If the timeline you see using your friend’s account has posts that you can’t see using your account, then it’s very likely that you have been restricted.

Another option is to visit the Facebook profile of the person you suspect of restricting you and browse through their posts. If all the posts are public and you can’t see any private posts, then there’s a possibility that you’ve been restricted and are no longer able to see friends-only posts.

Finally, if you have a pretty good knowledge of the user’s posts and timeline, you can check to see if there are any posts missing compared to the posts you know were there earlier. However, this method is not fool-proof, as the user could have just deleted those posts.

Frequently asked questions about restricting users on Facebook


How to restrict someone on Facebook?


To add one of your friends to the restricted list on Facebook, log in to your Facebook profile, open Settings and select Privacy. Read through the text on the page and locate the ‘Who can see your future posts?’ option. Click on the menu next to this question and select ‘Friends except…’ from the menu. Start typing the user’s name and then select it from the list of suggestions that pops up. Finally, press ‘Restrict’ next to the user’s name and click ‘Save Changes’ at the bottom of the page.

How to remove someone from the restricted list on Facebook?


To remove someone from the restricted list on Facebook, you need to open the Settings menu in your Facebook account and choose Privacy Settings. Then find the ‘Who can see your future posts?’ option and check the list of people who are restricted under it. Next, simply press the button next to the user you want to unrestrict and save changes.

What is the difference between restricting and blocking someone on Facebook?


When you block someone on Facebook, the user is removed from your list of friends, they can’t see your comments, posts, etc. and they won’t be able to find your profile on Facebook even if they search for your exact name. If you restrict a user, they won’t be able to see your posts unless the post’s privacy setting is set to Public or the restricted user is tagged in the post.