Have you ever been in a situation where you sent a Facebook message to the wrong person or sent something and regretted doing it almost immediately? You’re not alone! Due to how common situations like this are, a few years back, Facebook added the Unsend feature to its messenger. This feature allows Facebook users to unsend messages within 10 minutes from the moment when they were sent. So keep this information in mind the next time you regret sending a message on Facebook and act quickly.
How to unsend a Facebook message?
To remove a message on Facebook, you should first open the Facebook messenger and find the conversation that contains the message you want to remove. Next, tap and hold the message for a few moments. Three buttons will appear at the bottom of the screen, you should choose More… and then tap Remove. You will be given two options: Unsend and Remove for You. The first option will remove the message from the conversation for all participants, while the second option will delete the message only for you, other people will still be able to see it. Choose the option that fits your intent and confirm the action to remove the message from the conversation.
One caveat to keep in mind
Even though the Unsend feature is very useful, there’s one caveat - the messages you unsend don’t just disappear without a trace. Once you unsend a message, it will be replaced by a message that says “You unsent a message”. Despite this, most people still frequently use the Unsend feature.
Frequently asked questions about unsending Facebook messages
Can you unsend a Facebook message without a trace?
No, unfortunately, when you unsend a message on Facebook, it is replaced with another message telling everyone that you unsent a message.
Can I remove a Facebook message for everyone in the conversation?
Yes, you have 10 minutes to unsend a message on Facebook messenger, given that the recipient doesn’t read the message before the 10 minutes are up.
How long do I have to unsend a message on Facebook messenger?
You can unsend Facebook messages within 10 minutes from the moment you send them. Keep in mind that your conversation partners could read those messages before the 10 minutes are up.
Your order is accepted!
You will receive a confirmation with the estimated initialization time and order completion speed via the email specified in the order.